CalArts alumni take home Golden Globe Award

California institute of arts photo - southern california news
Signal file photo California Institute of the Arts.

Several alumni from California Institute of the Arts (CalArts) earned a Golden Globe award for their work on Disney/Pixar’s “CoCo” during the annual awards show Sunday.

The Dia de los Muertos film won a Golden Globe for Best Animated Feature, following a tradition of CalArts alumni taking home the award and making their marks in the industry.

Several CalArts graduates worked on the film, including 2007 graduate Adrian Molina who co-directed and co-wrote the film.

“It was an incredible opportunity for us to display all of the things about the culture which, as a Mexican-America, we take pride in and that we want to share and we want the world to see,” Molina said after receiving the award alongside Director Lee Unkrich and Producer Darla K. Anderson.  “And to be able to reflect that on a family on a national and international level is something that we are very touched that people have come to love this story and this family.”

CoCo,” which has earned more than $550 million at box offices, tells the story of an aspiring musician, Miguel, who enters the land of the dead to explore his family’s history and heritage.

Together, the film’s crew spent six years developing the film, researching its topics and perfecting its characters.

“This picture has been one of the most encouraging films for me personally, and I know for a lot of people at the studio, because of the care and because it reflects what you can do when you take that time and you open the door and invite many voices into the room,” Molina said.

In this category, “CoCo” was up against four other animated films: “The Breadwinner,” “Ferdinand,” “Loving Vincent” and “The Boss Baby.”

CalArts theater graduate Alison Brie also received a nomination for Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series – Musical or Comedy category for her role in the Netflix series “Glow.”

She was nominated alongside Pamela Adlon  of “Better Things,” Issa Rae of “Insecure,” Frankie Shaw of “SMILF” and Rachel Brosnahan of “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” who won the award.

[email protected]
On Twitter as @_ChristinaCox_

Related To This Story

Latest NEWS