ELECTION UPDATE: Hill, Acosta, council incumbents hold leads, and more


After vote tallies continued overnight, the numbers have been updated and all local races have unofficial results with 100 percent of the precincts reporting as of Wednesday morning. Visit The Signal’s Election Center for complete results of local races and updates on statewide contests, some of which are still awaiting the last few precincts to be counted.

The following updates are based on results reported by both the California Secretary of State’s office and the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk. It bears noting that all results are unofficial, with provisional and late mail-in ballots still to be counted, so some close races could still see the results change.

In local races, Katie Hill edged incumbent Steve Knight to win the 25th Congressional District seat, while incumbent Dante Acosta is fending off a challenge by Christy Smith for the 38th Assembly District. Incumbent Tom Lackey defeated challenger Steve Fox in the 36th Assembly District.

Of those races, the Smith-Acosta contest is the tightest, with 1,222 votes separating the two before provisionals and late mail-in ballots are counted.

All three incumbents — Laurene Weste, Marsha McLean and Bill Miranda — won re-election to the Santa Clarita City Council.

On the education front, incumbent Joan MacGregor won re-election to the Area 5 seat on the College of the Canyons board, defeating challenger Ann-Marie Bjorkman. In the William S. Hart Union High School District, Bob Jensen was re-elected to the Area 2 seat and Joe Messina was re-elected to the Area 5 seat.

In the Newhall School District, Donna Rose won the Area 2 seat that was left vacant when Smith chose to run for the Assembly. And, in the Saugus Union School District, David Barlavi won the Area 1 seat left vacant by Paul De La Cerda’s decision to not seek re-election, and incumbent Chris Trunkey won re-election to Area 5. In Area 2, longtime incumbent board member Judy Umeck was unseated by challenger Laura Arrowsmith.

You can get the details on these races, plus countywide and statewide election results, at The Signal’s Election Center.

Related To This Story

Latest NEWS