Saugus Board to accept $25,500 grant from Henry Mayo Newhall Foundation

Saugus Union School District office. Dan Watson/The Signal

In late-May, the Saugus Union School District’s Education Services department was awarded a $25,500 grant from the Henry Mayo Newhall Foundation to support programs at the district’s 15 sites.

The district’s Governing Board is expected to approve and accept the grant for Science, Technology, Engineering, Art and Math (STEAM) programs during its meeting Tuesday.

District officials received notice of the $25,500 grant through a letter form the Henry Mayo Newhall Foundation May 31.

“The directors join me in extending our best wishes for the continuing success of the STEAM academic enrichment activities for every student during and after school,” foundation Board of Directors President Angelica Simmons said in the May 31 letter.

According to the district, the grant will be used to offset charges for the district’s Math Field Day event, LACOE Math Field Day event, Toastmaster Competition, District Awards Evening and Festival of the Arts.

It will also offset costs for the Kennedy Partnership Program substitute coverage for demo art lessons and will support additional staffing hours for teachers to assist and train for events.

Measure EE Citizens Oversight Committee

During Tuesday’s meeting Governing Board members are also expected to appoint five members to its Measure EE Citizens Oversight Committee.

The district announced its need for representatives to serve on the committee June 2, due to the resignation of one member and the term expirations of four members.  In total, the district received 12 applications for the committee vacancies.

Following a subcommittee’s suggestion, the Governing Board is expected to appoint Bob Aholt, Patty Conwell, Chris Gerrick, Collin Schoenfeld and Paul Travis to the Measure EE Citizens Oversight Committee.

If appointed Tuesday, Aholt will serve as the business representative, Conwell will serve as the senior citizen organization representative and Gerrick, Schoenfeld and Travis will serve as parent representatives.

All five new members will serve from 2017 to 2019.

As representatives on the nine-member Citizens Oversight Committee, the appointees will help review district expenditures of the $148 million bond approved by voters on Nov. 4, 2014.

The independent Measure EE Citizens Oversight Committee is required by law to oversee the bond measure to modernize facilities, upgrade technology and renovate and revitalize schools.

Additional Agenda Items:

  • Approve the Santa Clarita Valley Chamber of Commerce Board/District membership
  • Approve the Valley Industry Board/District membership
  • Conduct second reading and adoption of board policies and administrative regulations: Certificated Personnel—Evaluation/Supervision; Management, Supervisory and Confidential Personnel-Contracts
  • Conduct a second reading and adoption of bylaws of the board: Board Member Electronic Communications; and Closed Session Purposes and Agendas
  • Conduct first reading of bylaws of the board: Actions by the Board
  • Approve Memorandum of Understanding for fiscal year 2017-18 with the Santa Clarita Valley California Teacher Induction Program
  • Approve contract with Courtney, Inc. for the roofing replacement project at the district office totaling $294,255
  • Approve change orders to Magnum Fence and Security, Incl. for additional fencing at Mountainview Elementary totaling $2,488
  • Approve certificated administrator multi-year contracts for: Susan Bender, Paul Martinsen, Gina Nolte and Katie Demsher
  • Approve resolution authoring the issuance of series 2017 special tax refunding bonds of Community Facilities District No. 2006-2
  • Approve resolutions for special taxes in Community Facilities District No. 2002-1 (Tesoro del Valle), 2004-1 (Tesoro del Valle), 2005-1 (Plum Canyon), 2006-1 (West Creek/West Hills), 2006-2 (River Village)

[email protected]
On Twitter as @_ChristinaCox_

Related To This Story

Latest NEWS