Seven apply for Hart Board vacancy

The William S. Hart Union High School District. Dan Watson/The Signal
The William S. Hart Union High School District. Dan Watson/The Signal

A total of seven Santa Clarita residents have applied to fill the vacancy on the William S. Hart Union High School District Governing Board.

Residents who applied to fill the vacant Trustee Area 3 seat include: Ann-Marie Bjorkman, TimBen Boydston, Kenneth Dean, Noe Garcia, Cherise Moore, Hilary Schardein and Teresa Todd.

Members of the Governing Board voted 3-1 in favor of making a provisional appointment, instead of holding special election, to fill resigning Board Member Rob Hall’s term until December 2018.

Hall submitted his letter of resignation to the Los Angeles County Board of Education Jan. 19 to take a 15-month assignment with Advanced Bionics/Sonova in Singapore.  His resignation was effective Feb. 1.

“All of the applicants have been vetted through the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder’s office and found to be in compliance with California Education Code 35107,” the district stated in a press release.

This means that the applicants are all registered voters, 18 years of age or older and live in Trustee Area 3, the southern part of Santa Clarita Valley that includes portions of Golden Valley High School and Hart High School attendance areas.

According to the Hart District, the board has scheduled a public meeting on March 29 at 6 p.m. to interview applicants, publically debate about the applicants and select an applicant for appointment.

The board member will then be sworn in at the Governing Board’s following meeting April 19.

[email protected]
On Twitter as @_ChristinaCox_

Related To This Story

Latest NEWS