SCCS big winner in winter awards

Santa Clarita Christian's Laruen Bronstrup (19), Chloe Edwards (23), Kalona Marr (00), and Cassidy Oliver (4) celebrate Edwards' first goal of the game against St. Monica's Academy. Katharine Lotze/The Signal

For Santa Clarita Christian’s Chloe Edwards, her senior season held both more and less pressure than her junior campaign.

More in that the reigning Heritage League girls soccer Player of the Year wanted to repeat.

Less in that she’d already had a strong junior year and simply wanted to enjoy her final high school season before heading off to play at Cal State Northridge.

In the end, she got both.

MORE: All-CIF soccer reflects year of firsts in SCV

After leading SCCS to a second straight unbeaten Heritage season, Edwards earned the league’s top honor, highlighting a host of SCCS athletes honored this month in soccer and basketball.

“Obviously, I was super excited and super honored,” Edwards said. “It’s cool to work hard at something you love and get recognized for it.”

Edwards scored 23 goals and assisted on 11 others this season. She was joined in the Heritage awards by her coach, Jason Cooper, the league’s Coach of the Year.

Julia Phillipps, Abigail Patterson, Lauren Bronstrup, Jenny Curry and Kalona Marr all made the all-league first team, while Grace Patterson, Alicia Castillo, Marianne Castillo and Cassidy Oliver made the second team.

In girls basketball, Payton Schwesinger and Kaleigh Moss made the all-Heritage first team, and Kenzie Kennedy and Kayla Norton made the second team for the Cardinals, who advanced to the CIF-Southern Section Division 6 quarterfinals.

SCCS’s boys basketball team, which also made a CIF quarterfinal, in Division 5AA, won a share of the Heritage League title this season.

AJ Caldwell and Justin Collins represented SCCS on the Heritage League’s first team, and Josh Fehr and Jacob Moss made the second team.

In boys soccer, Chris Siddens, Travis Bannerman, Braeden Berentsen and Billy Latch made first team in the Heritage League. Brett Ramirez, TJ Evans, Talon Hudson, Clayton Lawton and Carl Andersen made the second team.

Related To This Story

Latest NEWS